Leicestershire Chorale
Next event: War Requiem, Saturday 10 November

Review of Passion and Resurrection

Saturday 24 March 2012

Qyan Arnachellum Leicester Mercury Tuesday 27th March 2012.

Saturday 24th March 2012
A Moving, magical experience
The programme began with Vakars or Evening, Eriks Esenvalds’ modern Latvian work.
Based on a poem by Sara Teasdale expressing hope, calm and tranquillity, the depiction of birds singing was perfect with the same notes repeated by the choir while solo soprano twitters above. A short work, the dynamics and contrasts were wonderfully clear and precise.
Thomas Tallis’ Lamentations of Jeremiah, describing the fall of Jerusalem in 6BC, was brilliantly portrayed, its mournful Hebrew text and the despair of the prophet brought to life.
Composed in 1910, Vaughan Williams’ wonderful Fantasia on Thomas Tallis played by the string Ensemble begins darkly and has lovely cello passages.
A quartet occupies the central part. Full use of the strings is made with colour and contrast across the spectrum utilised.
Esenvalds’ Passion and Resurrection is a stunning work in four movements with the singers assuming various roles. The soprano in movement one is the prostitute and in four is Mary Magdalene in the Easter Garden.
With soaring, powerful solo soprano passages, perfect string accompaniment and an excellent quartet of voices singing from the stage, the balcony above and behind the audience, as well as the choir as a whole, it was a moving performance enabling the listener the story’s full emotional impact.
Breath-taking and magical described perfectly the performance of all the musicians. It was a truly fantastic experience.

Reproduced courtesy of the Leicester Mercury

Back to the list of forthcoming concerts...